Youth

“Your daughter looks like she’ll be talented in the future.” A stranger told my dad at the beach. I was jumping over small waves and feeling like life was enjoyable and carefree. I don’t remember the exact age but I was quite young. Maybe five or six years old.

I wish to feel that again. I want to feel invincible, like the world can do no harm to me. That if I were to wake up tomorrow, all I have to worry about is how to spend the day enjoying my time.

The reason why I could never forget what that stranger said was because I believed him. I believed that he would be right and that the world is looking out for me. In a child’s eyes, adults were always right.

 

img_2856

Leave a Reply

